Fluffy Love

For those of you who don’t know me, I have many vices. None is more deadly than that of the kitten.

kittens.jpg

One time when I was about 26 and visiting my dad, he told me about the neighborhood stray and her litter of five. I left my dad’s house and all those kittens were frolicking in the front yard. As soon as my dad closed his front door, I went into rescue mode. I had all five kittens and the mom in my arms walking swiftly towards my car when the voice of god my dad spoke in a booming voice. Spoke is not quite the right word. Commanded, thundered, reverberated in my head.

“Jennifer! Put. The. Cats. Down!”

Seriously, I would not have been more stunned if Jack Bauer himself had jumped out of the bushes and thrust a Glock into my face asking me the location of the virus.

In my defense, I was planning on taking them to the vet to get them all fixed and then I was going to find them all homes. I swear.

There went that voice again. By now, I realized it was my dad and I was more annoyed than scared. I mean, really, he had closed his door. What was he doing all up in my cat nabbing rescuing business?

At this point in my life, I was more like those 80-year-old women with 90 cats. I could barely feed the three I already had. I knew my dad knew this. My dad knew I knew he knew this. I also knew he was not going to let me get away with it, but man, an arm full of kittens and a mama cat licking my face. It was hard. I felt like a sailor willingly trapped in the call of sirens.

An armful of kittens is about as close to heaven as I think I’m ever going to get.

Needless to say, with my dad standing there, glaring with his dark Italian eyes, I reluctantly put down that armful of love and devotion.

My dad stayed right where he was, up on his perch of power, until I got in my car and drove away. I know he occasionally looked out the window to make sure I hadn’t come back.

So why do I bring this up today?

Sparky’s firm is doing a campaign that includes a basket of kittens. A basket of fluffy love. And he and his business partner have promised me that I get to be there. I really can’t think of anything I’d like more. Well, maybe if I could bring them all home.

Sparky… Can I have a kitten? A kitten in a basket?

Meow,sniff, sniff, meow

7 thoughts on “Fluffy Love

  1. this picture is so so sweet i want kittens but i already have a cat so i can’t get one but newae that kitten is so cute

  2. those kittens need a nice home with someone that can feed each and every one of them…but I have to admit I love kittens.

  3. those kittens need a nice home with someone that can feed each and every one of them…but I have to admit

Leave a Reply

