American Beauty

People ask what Sparky does. He does things like this. Now he’s not directly responsible for this particular viral, but this is a good example.  I love this clip and think the Dove spots are fabulous. This is not an advertisment, so don’t get your panties in a knot. Just a clip I really like.

Two things popped in my head as I watched it.  One, it was really powerful and kids like Twinkle Toes are overly exposed and I love that Dove threw the doors open on it.  And two, wow, I need a lot of plastic surgery.

13 thoughts on “American Beauty

  1. wow, that IS a great clip. i hadn’t seen it before. thanks for sharing 🙂 and boy, don’t let me get started on all the places i need plastic surgery on… 😉

  2. It`s a great clip. There is so much pressure on women to be perfect. I`m happier with myself now at almost 41, with stretch marks, thread veins and a few wrinkles, than I was at 20.
    Karen
    x

  3. One of my personal heroes is ex Texas governor Ann Richards. Ann was everything a woman should be… smart, sassy, bold, unapologetic. She had this great big aqua-netted pile of white hair, and used to joke that even her wrinkles had wrinkles. But to me she was/is/always will be the epitome of femininity and beauty at its best. I even had a photo of her (taken at some event in Austin) on my desk for years and years.

    These are all things I’ve drilled into the girl’s heads since they were old enough to even halfway understand what I was saying. That beauty was about so much more than facial symmetry, or perky breasts. I thought it was working, too, until Robbie turned 12 or 13. Then it was suddenly all about Nicole Richie and Lindsay Lohan and “oh my god mom, I SO have to have that new abercrombie & fitch skirt or I’ll, like, die!”

    That said, I don’t think the quest for eternal youth/beauty can be deprogrammed, nor should it. It’s hardwired into all of us… every bit as primal as our need to claw our way to head of the pack and then procreate. No one wants to be on the losing end of Darwin’s survival of the fittest, that’s for sure.

    People talk a lot about how dishonest and immoral marketing & media are and, like most things, there’s certainly an element of truth to it. But more often than not it’s just the opposite. They’re so honest that, god damn it, you (eventually) hate them for it. Yes, you are getting older and you don’t want anyone to notice your crow’s feet… yes, smoking does make you look cool, helps you stay thinner, and is an excellent way to calm your nerves… yes, you really are more confident, outgoing and interesting once you’ve had a few drinks in you. You look better with makeup on… long, silky hair really does attract men and, yes, you’re willing to spend as much as it takes to get it. Being smart is great, but being pretty is the stuff dreams are made of. It’s all true… sucks that it is, but it doesn’t make it any less true.

    So marketers tell us what we want to hear… tv shows us exactly what we want to see (even when we’re too embarrassed to ask for it directly). But eventually we turn on them for exposing us for shallow lemmings we are. If our daughters are barraged with near constant images of plastic surgery, size zero models, and expensive name brands, it’s because that’s what we (the mothers, sisters, benevolent friends) want.

    So in the end I tell my girls that, hell yes, I’d love to be young, beautiful and richer than Midas, but since that’s not an option I’m learning to work with what I’ve got using all the weapons in my arsenal… intelligence, sass and boldness (along with a great moisturizer & a kick-ass concealer), and all without apology. Just like Ann.

  4. As an erotic artist myself, I have to say this is true, it is out there and if you do not talk to your children, the work I do will – no matter how I try to control who has access to it.

  5. As the mother of a daughter, I constantly wonder what messages she receives from advertising. Even at age five, she is worried about her appearance. At a school kindergarden concert, one mother freaked out because her daughter looked “washed out” on the stage because no one put any make-up on the children. This mother actually complained to instructors/teachers that they failed to put make-up on her child before allowing her darling “to take the stage”.

    My body is far from perfect – I need to lose weight, I have wrinkles, and I am in desperate need of a pedicure, but it’s MINE. No one, not even those air brushed models, are perfect, and damned if I going to let them try to convince my five year old she could be if she used some cream or had surgery!

  6. that is a sweet commercial. i am glad you posted it, since i would probably have never seen it otherwise.
    there is pressure on men too, obviously not the same amount, or perhaps just different, but I have had anorexic male friends, and they feel it too. society as a whole needs a makeover.

Leave a Reply

