Sophie’s Choice

My obstetrician told me yesterday that if I was serious about wanting to deliver in week 38 or 39 he had a sure fire way.

All I have to do is cut all short chain carbs and most long chain carbs from my diet starting now.  Blood glucose levels seem to have much to do with labor hormones.

I came home and contemplated this over a slice of cake that I ate standing in the corner of the kitchen with my fingers and the knife.

Later Sparky came up and hugged me.  He said I smelled like citrus.  I didn’t  tell him it was the cake crumbs that had fallen down my shirt.

14 thoughts on “Sophie’s Choice

  1. In the whole scheme of things, yep. in the idea that I have nothing done, big fat yes. In the the “I want to keep my parts as intact as possible” part, nope.

    I’m in week 34. 37-42 weeks is the normal window. 39 weeks and the brain is fully developed as are the lungs, but Big Head Todd, aka Jupiter aka Loki is scaring me with his massive head. I’d prefer sooner than later, thank you.

  2. It amazes me what crap drs here in Germany spout. Speaking as someone who did everything. Yes, everything, to make Thing1 come out, I can tell you that in the US you would be given lists of things that might work (including acupuncture) and then be told that the body is ready when it is ready, that the baby determines it, and that no one really understands it, although we can try with vaginal hormonal suppositories and pitocin drips.

    I was 7 cm dilated from week 37 and went into precipitous labour at week 42, 4 hours before my scheduled induction (in the US they don’t let you go past 42).

    I’ll be amused to hear if lack of carbs does anything for you.

  3. I hope it works out. I went a few days past my date and I cried so the doctor took pity and induced me. Not the most fun way to have a baby but hey at least I got the kid out.

    And thanks for the thoughts you left on my blog. I’m going to choose to believe it’ll all be alright.

  4. I haven’t heard the carbs thing but I did go into labor on the first day of week 39… it was also a full moon and though I normally don’t buy into that mumbo jumbo, my aunt who worked in a maternity ward for 30 years said the hospital was always full to the point of overflowing on full moons. So check the lunar calendar. And don’t worry about Loki’s head… you might rip but I promise the head leaving your girl parts is the least amount of pain you’ll feel.

  5. I don’t believe it any more than I did the woman who told me if I mixed Draino with my urine, I could determine the baby’s sex–yes, really.

    Unless you’re induced somehow or have a c-section, there is NO sure way to get Loki to arrive when you want him to. Otherwise, there wouldn’t be tons of women trying all kinds of strange things to induce labor.

    As to “preserving your parts”, I have only a vague idea as to what you’re thinking on that,but I can tell you from my own experiences and those of everyone I know that labor truly is a crap shoot. It seldom goes according to plan and you just can’t count on things happening the way you expect them to.

    And truthfully, it’s really good practice for raising those kids 😀

  6. Interesting. Well, all you can do is give it a try and let us know if Loki goes for it. Don’t worry about the big head, your parts will bounce back just fine. 🙂

    I went to 41 weeks with my last one, tried everything, had the girls at the ob/gyn office placing bets. What finally worked for me was climbing 4 flights of stairs to the in laws apartment, eating sauerkraut for lunch, making a loaf of banana bread and eating half and then having a warm bath at midnight. Kid was out in three hours flat and I survived all 4 kg of him.

  7. If it’s the “big head” thing, Jen, let me tell you (and I’ll do it here where I’m happily anonymous :D) that my sex life has gotten steadily BETTER in the years since JR came into this world the “usual way”.
    (The c-section with her big sister did nothing either way. But my husband claims JR must have “rearranged the circuits” while she was in there, or perhaps on the way out.He’s nuts that way)

    I DID tear a little with her, and it was no fun healing afterwards. But long term damage? Nada. None. Zilch.

    Oh, and Marcus? G may have a “skewed picture of reality”, but then so do babies. They seldom follow the rules or do what you expect they will.
    (You’ll find that out VERY quickly 😉

  8. In the UK one of the old wives tales about starting labour is, a spicy curry, a drive down a bumpy road and sex……..I was also recomended Raspberry Leaf Tea…..tasted disgusting….didn´t work.
    Both of my two were late……boys.

  9. Library Lady,

    You know I love you dear, but I just can’t agree with you on this one.

    To quote the saintly Philip K. Dick:

    “Reality is that which, when you stop believing in it, doesn’t go away.”

    So no matter if it’s G or my own sweet baby: Once they start defying ACTUAL reality (like “getting cured by Acupuncture at a success rate above Placebo”), I’ll start believing in Sylvia Browne and Santa Clause. But until then, I’ll stick with evidence-based Popperian reality.

    Congrats on your after-baby-sex life, though – you deserve it, you little minx ;)!

    Sinerely,
    Your curmudgeonly James-Randi-Wannabe

  10. Library Lady,

    You know I love you dear, but I just can’t agree with you on this one.

    To quote the saintly Philip K. Dick:

    “Reality is that which, when you stop believing in it, doesn’t go away.”

    So no matter if it’s G or my own sweet baby: Once they start defying ACTUAL reality (like “getting cured by Acupuncture at a success rate above Placebo”), I’ll start believing in Sylvia Browne and Santa Clause. But until then, I’ll stick with evidence-based Popperian reality.

    Congrats on your after-baby-sex life, though – you deserve it, you little minx ;)!

    Sincerely,
    Your curmudgeonly James-Randi-Wannabe

  11. You’re being splendidly logical. Unfortunately, no one reads Philip K Dick to babies. You be the one to try it and see if it works :}

    Until then, I stand by my words. Babies don’t care about what is real and what is logical. They have their own reality. And after a bit of sleep deprivation, you start seeing it their way.

    And if you think they’re bad, try dealing with teenagers 😉

  12. Thinking of you. Had a Gilmore night and a girls weekend with our birthday girl. We went shopping trying to find clothes to fit the pathetic school code but had a blas. We watched the Gilmore episode where Suki freaks out at becoming a mom when she does that Lord of the Rings birthday party. Of course I thought about all the times you may have needed support and I got pulled away.

    It was the wrong time to go yet simutaneously seems to have been the right time. A lot of weird things are happening that are need a good hour or more of conversation; I’d rather be having coffee with you than dealing with the bullshit of being back in America. I’m sure San Fran is better than where I ended up. The people, however, are incredibly friendly. That’s a nice change. 🙂

    love and miss you.

Leave a Reply

