Dave and Meghan

This is my brother David and his wife Meghan.It’s weird to call her his wife because we are still kids right? Except I’ve been married for 6 years and have a kid and just ordered a Christmas stocking that says Mom and not Jenny.Dave and Meghan

Anyway, I realized this year, e-mailing christmas plans between Meghan, Jennice and my sister that not only have we all grown up, my brothers are with fabu women.  Women who kick ass and take names and our family has grown up.

Meghan rocks.  She is one of the fiercest people I know. Loyal and fierce.  She works for Child Protective Services.  You definitely want her watching your back and you definitely do not want to piss her off.

She also has a wicked sense of humor.

Last year I realized that I was jealous of Meghan.  She took over as the reigning female, the one who kept everyone together, the center of our family. She brought David back into the fold for which we are all thankful because Dave rocks too.

But see, that used to be me until I moved 6000 miles away and it made me kind of sad. Then I was really happy.  The family is solid. She keeps them together and every year I go home and get to be a part of the family again without guilt.

Why do I bring this up?  Well, lately I’ve been more than a little homesick.  I’ve fallen down the rabbit hole (another post for another time) and I really need my family. I can’t wait to go home at the end of December and get everyone together for dinner.  I can’t wait to introduce Max to those who don’t know him yet.  I can’t wait for Max to have cousins and I can’t wait to be a part of something that great again.

Not only that, but i need a pedicure and there is nothing better than gossiping with Meghan while my toes are painted with the discontinued red that she hunted down for me.  Seriously, my sister-in-law rocks.

How lucky am I?

Dave and Meghan Wedding

 

 

6 thoughts on “Dave and Meghan

  1. Now that was so sweet. I plan to brag to Dave when he gets home. Trust me, your family is all yours. lol And when we are together, we talk about when your comming out next and what we will be doing together. Most recently, Jennice and I have planned a shopping trip and Jennice told me not to spend to much on black friday because I needed to save it for your return. She is wise. I do think you should move back! It would be so wonderful to have a SIL in the same state as even Mim is so far away!! But.. until then, I am letting my toes get really gross for our pedi. 🙂

  2. I just cried. Thanks Jen. I mean, I know you know today was a bad day for me, and I want someone to hug me through the net, and you basically did by offering chocolate, and then this… and it’s freakin’ not even for or about me! Maybe I want a Meghan in my life. Will you adopt me?

  3. you know i had one shitty day yesterday too..and that helped. 🙂 thanks. Maria- i am currently looking for a local Sister in law? are you local?

Leave a Reply

