Enter Title Here…

So I’m going to try this blogging thing again.

  • Mim graduated from college – double major- Spanish and Theatre Arts. Yeah, the employment options are just wide-open there.  As wide open as the dating options for a straight girl inside that theatre arts major.
  • I’m working for this organization and with Miss Claire! We had to remove votegopher from  the site because a particular state found it to be partisan. I found that to be absurd, but I’m new to this Washington game, apparently. I’m coordinating a new program informally referred to as Cocktail Party Civics – teaching expats enough about our government to get through a political discussion at a cocktail party.  Oh, and to get them to vote.  Claire will be teaching and I’ll be serving the drinks!  Thank you for your input, BTW.  I just couldn’t get my head around it and the MICHELLE BACH.MANN people can kiss my tushie.

As for the Cocktail Party Civics meet-ups – I’m having three in Germany – Frankfurt, Munich and Berlin. Everyone is invited. Will post dates and info soon. Will not interfere with WEBUM.

  • Sparky’s cousin died very suddenly of leukaemia.  She died 3 days after diagnosis. How does one die suddenly of leukaemia? Mis-diagnosis. She was 42.  It hit us all pretty hard.  Sparky and Max are now the only members of his father’s side of the family.
  • Max got a cold which he thoughtfully handed off to his parents. Sparks and I are like that couple in the old Nyquil commercials. I literally woke up to his coughing last night and told him to take the German equivalent which is awful. I do not want it to taste like honey and chamomile. I miss my cherry flavoured night-time cold relief.  I’ll restock soon…
  • I’m off to California for a while starting Mid-June.  Just Max and I.  Sparky has to work, watch the cats and make sure his Playstation doesn’t get dusty.
  • I’m finally jumping Microsoft ship and buying an Apple in the states. I’ve absolutely had it with my Vaio. It sucks, the support sucks and frankly, if I didn’t need it to print on our Kyocera printer, I’d stomp on it like I’ve been day dreaming ever since I pushed the button the first time. I hate Sony computers.  And I hate Sony.  When the customer support guy offered to teach me how to be a better customer, well, that was about it. Apple here I come.
  • I got sucked into a whirlpool of private insurance doctors.  I saw a dermatologist (who cut out a large portion of the back of my arm)who recommended both an eye doctor (to check for melanoma in our retinas) and an orthopaedist because it appeared that my over-supination was affecting my knees. He noticed this during the skin cancer check.  (If you go to that supination site, check out the photo to the left. There is NO WAY she is doing that without someone pushing her feet back.  NO WAY.)

These doctors have different phone numbers for privately insured patients.  The offices look like they are straight out of Nip/Tuck. Then they do an exam and refer me off to another Dr. with a private phone number.  One guy wanted me to see his wife (2nd no doubt) about a homeopathic weight loss therapy because oh, I don’t know, I need to lose more weight and the option I chose didn’t seem to be working. I’m not sure if he heard me when I mentioned the 200 pounds I no longer carry.

  • Why is it that when I’ve been up since 4 am that Max sleeps in?
9 thoughts on “Enter Title Here…

  1. On the over-supination, I’m not sure what they do in DE, but I got my first pair of orthodics (custom shoe inserts) from the US about 10 years ago and then an updated pair 5 years ago. I recall it costing about 400 usd each time for the entire thing (not ‘medically required’ on my US health plan but ‘recommended’, aargh!)

    But worth every penny, I cannot live without them. It does potentially limit your shoe options though, to find shoes where the things always fit. 😦

  2. If the Michelle Bachmann people kiss your tushie, wouldn’t that be partisan?

    On the other hand, if Michelle Bachmann shows up for a Cocktail Party, sign me up! Maybe we can kidnap her and keep her here! (No, she’s not from my home district in Minnesota, she’s next door. But hopefully not for long…)

  3. Sorry to hear about your VAIO. We’re on our second one and are even more happy with it than we were with the first. The first is now five years old, recently upgraded to 2GB or RAM, and runs like day one. Can’t tell you about any bad experiences with their support staff either, but then again, I haven’t had to seek them out. 🙂

  4. Welcome to the world of Apple! I spent 15 years working in for PC manufacturers, even being responsible for the mobile PC business of one of the PC OEMs, and still carried a MacBook for my private use. It’s so nice to have a computer that just works.

    I’m so sorry to hear about Sparky’s cousin. That happened to an uncle of mine about 10 years ago. He went to his doctor to talk about a rash that had appeared on his arm and was rushed to hospital. They diagnosed a rare leukaemia that they said was untreatable and would progress quickly and a couple of days later, he died. It was so sad to see him go from the vital man he was to dying in such a short time. My thoughts are with you both.

  5. Hello. I represent the literal, non-political, technology-challenged percentage of your readership who has to google half your posts to understand them, and even then…

    So you’re working for Claire, huh. Strange. Somehow I pictured you in a bank? Or was the word ‘work’ used loosely in this context? I can never tell the difference.

    Apple = hurray!

    Over-supination… um…

    Private doctors = I don’t know which is worse.

    Sparky’s relative = 😦

  6. You will enjoy the Macbook… but with the Euro being so low at the moment, you could think about getting one here; then you can use the German keyboard when you need it– and you will!; but if not it is worthwhile getting a separate keyboard: otherwise inputting those pesky umlauts is a pretty pain). I put a Windows 7 boot option on mine for those not-so-rare occasions when Mr. Job’s Walled Garden gives you problems.

  7. Hi Geoff,

    The Umlauts are not a problem with the proper technique.
    You know about the “Option Key + u”, followed by a, o, u shortcut?

    – m.

  8. Heather: I’m all for the inserts. i thought the ortho guy could do them. He sent me to another guy to take the measurements of my limbs so they could refer me to another guy to take molds of my feet. I kid you not. I found a lady who could do the whole process. looking forward to it.

    Scott: I am partisan. I just have to play a non-partisan on TV. If she shows up, I’ll let you know. We could use the muscle.

    Ian: my Viao blue screened the first time I turned it on. It has been in repair 6 times in 3 years and it would have been more, but I didn’t want to be out of a comp for “no more than 30 days”. They have switched everything out and it still doesn’t work right. I’m not a tinkerer, so I just needed it to work and it doesn’t/didn’t.

    With apple, I don’t think I have to do anything and if I do, the combo of Sparky and Tilman (I haven’t actually asked him yet, but he’s pretty generous with help) I should be fine.

    Emily – I’ve been reading you for a while now. I can’t wait to meet you in Hamburg.

    Part of the reason I’ve been hesitant to go Apple was that Sparky was so pro. there is rule somewhere that states that i must do the exact opposite of what Sparky suggests. A hold over from my youth, no doubt. Makes for easy button pushing.

    Yeah, the Ute situation was very odd. And sad. She was alone and this just breaks my heart every time I think about it. No one should be alone.

    Lisa – Used to work for a bank and then worked for a banc. Now working for a NGO to help my karma. And work is not used loosely. I actually have to work as in I report to a boss who is very boss like and is not Claire. Claire keeps me off the ledge.

    Apple – yeah, we’ll see. Again, between Sparky and Tilman, I should be able to make the transition.

    Look up supination = things we didn’t know that were wrong with us.

    Private is usually very nice. I didn’t know there where such whirlpools out there. I will be more careful in the future.

    Have you blogged lately. I click you all the freakin time when I’m supposed to be working.

  9. Geoff: see what I mean? Husbands should not be in a position to teach wives ANYTHING. Although the opposite is not true.

    I do prefer an American keyboard, although right now I use a British one.

Leave a Reply

