And a Dragon

Max likes that phrase.  When I put him to sleep at night, I list all the animals in the painting above his bed.

“There’s a lion and a sheep and a wombat aaaaaaaaand a dragon.”

“There’s a hedgehog and a chicken and penguin aaaaaaaaand a dragon”

When I get to the dragon part he smiles or laughs depending on his level of tiredness.  I can’t always do it, but I try to put him to bed with a smile on his face. When I do, I feel like I’ve done my job.

Once again, I’m trying to jumpstart my desire to write. If i can’t find anything interesting to write about, I  may or may not  post a picture of the kid. Can’t promise.

Some of the things that are going on right now include looking for and buying a house in California, my best friend moving back to Krautland, Sparky traveling more. My brother is buying his own house and getting married and my other brother and sister-in-law want kids.

Family is big for me and I want to be with them, but the longer I live in Germany, the less I want to move back.  And that is where the second home comes in.  We are going bi-continental for as long as Max isn’t in school.  I’ll worry about what happens when school starts later.

The whole living in two places thing is kind of major. We don’t have a house yet and haven’t worked out the details, but we are walking down that road.

There is also my conversion to Apple products and my love affair with the iPad.

It is a sickness, this Apple invasion, but one I happily indulge in because my arms don’t get tired when I read books on the iPad.  I can lean it up against the pillow and voila, I have made something as non-physical as reading a book, even less.

The child calls. He says Papa and Ball and Cat. He says Goodbye and Good Boy and Two.  I’ve heard him say Mama, but not to me.  When he wants me he says “UHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH”

And thus I have been renamed.

 

4 thoughts on “And a Dragon

  1. sparky is such a geek, it’s hilarious. sorry but his comment aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaand the dragon were the most fun things in this entry. oh and yay again on T coming back to krautland. i’m really (!) happy for you. fingers crossed you will find that perfect cali home soon! 🙂

  2. Good luck with the house hunting. I think if you can live in two places (even if it’s only summer when he’s older) he (and you) will benefit greatly from it.

Leave a Reply

